The Ozark Trail: A Guide to Hiking Missouri’s Mountains

As far as color options go, you can purchase this in one of two colors, Greystone which is the one featured in this article and a lighter grey. The constant color feature among the two are the orange rimmed wheels which I don’t love but, it is not a deal breaker. My favorite way to keep kids happy on hikes is to invite their friends. ozark trail backpack It’s amazing how much complaining happens on a hike with only one family. But if you add another family with at least one kid in roughly the same age range, like magic the hike seems to get shorter and the climbs easier for everyone involved. When hiking, doing gentle stretches each morning and evening can avoid problems.

The umbrella gives me a little roof to walk under, but it’s not for everybody. I’ve also used a poncho which kept my upper body dry, but I still get clammy. For me, planning campsites involves guesswork and looking at topographical maps. I cut post-it notes into strips and stick them to the map where I think we might camp. I move them around while planning, sometimes even after changes are made while on the trail.

Get Backpacking Light news, updates, gear info, skills, and commentary delivered into your inbox 1-2x/week. It’s kind of a standing joke with me and my blue bag in Peru, Europe etc… I love it and for $17 at Walmart it is still my go-to bag for the last 10 years. I think you could strap things to the outside, as it has a daisy chain and two loops at the bottom.

Essentially, the rain fly for the Ozark Trail was integrated into the tent directly. With access to the Ozark Trail available year-round, hikers will need to prepare differently ozark trail canopy for each season. Ozark springs see a lot of rain and varied temperatures; Ozark summers tend to be hot, muggy, and wet; Ozark winters can drop below freezing.

Trail maps are free to print at home or available for purchase at the online store.

Always treat any water for drinking and cooking along the trail. Specific water sources are indicated on Ozark Trail online and printed maps. A great way to ask questions of like-minded outdoor enthusiasts is to check out the Ozark Trail Section Hikers and Backpackers  (OTSHAB) Facebook page. You’ll find numerous advocates eager to answer your questions and aid you in planning your thru-hike. They might be able to assist in arranging a shuttle. A perk of hiking lesser-traveled trails are fewer (or non-existent) permits and parking fees.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started